hi all,

i am new to the forum and firstly just wanted to say hi to everyone and hope to gain a lot of advice/experience from you all, i have been playing guitar for a couple of months now and can play several chords and have just started on scale progresions.
i am currently playing with a very cheap strat copy and was looking to upgrade soon to a better guitar, i was reading a guide on buying a new guitar and was very impressed with the washburn x40pro, however i am in the uk and i can't find anywhere that stocks these however i have come across retailers stocking the washburn x200pro, now reading the specs they both sound the same. are they??
the style of music i am aiming to play is metal, would this be ok?? or would others recommend something else??
Quote by tallica_fan_83
hi all,

i am new to the forum and firstly just wanted to say hi to everyone and hope to gain a lot of advice/experience from you all, i have been playing guitar for a couple of months now and can play several chords and have just started on scale progresions.
i am currently playing with a very cheap strat copy and was looking to upgrade soon to a better guitar, i was reading a guide on buying a new guitar and was very impressed with the washburn x40pro, however i am in the uk and i can't find anywhere that stocks these however i have come across retailers stocking the washburn x200pro, now reading the specs they both sound the same. are they??
the style of music i am aiming to play is metal, would this be ok?? or would others recommend something else??

I think your best bet is to go to a music store and just try some gear out. You'll feel which one is best for you. I would suggest not limiting your options to a certain brand/ type of guitar- you may find a sound in an instrument for your genre that you wouldn't expect. Keep an open mind and have fun finding new gear!