I'm just starting out learning to play songs with harmonics on the bass (amazing grace to be precise) whats the best pick-up/amp settings to get clear harmonics? i'm using a ibanez bass which is a stingray/jazz (bridge humbucker + neck single).

i've cut the bass and boosted the treble but i still seem quite bassy.. any hints for getting "better" harmonics?
The only 6 words that can make you a better guitarist:

Learn theory
Practice better
Practice more
I play bass for the bass. So I'm proilly the wrong person to tell you anything. but it sounds like ya need midrange, not treble.
Quote by kranoscorp
I find that I feel the same about women who play bass as I think of immigrants in America.

I respect them for finding a place in society under a lot of ridicule, but I have an odd paranoia that they are going to steal my job.
Quote by ZeBubba!
it sounds like ya need midrange

yes. mids and high mids will bring out harmonics a bit more, and also a J pickup in the bridge works great for the clear tones. having the humbucker there won't keep you from getting good harmonics though, it's just a different sound.

also try playing near the bridge. but in the end it's all about practicing to get just the right touch for harmonics.
^^not necessarily helpful.
Quote by the humanity

think pokemon
Pete Wentz sig reaches level 32, it evolves into Mark Hoppus bass.
Mark Hoppus bass uses tone knob!
it's super unneffective!
Last edited by failedstagedive at Aug 15, 2008,
thanks, thats really helpful advice. i can feel after not much practice my harmonics are getting better, but rolling right back on to the bridge pickup has made a big difference, i've put a bit more mid in and the sounds filling out a bit more now. cheers guys

Learn theory
Practice better
Practice more
can anyone give me any other good songs to practice harmonics in?
particularly harmonic chords, they sound lovely but i struggle to work out how they fit.

cheers

Learn theory
Practice better
Practice more