im building a 1x12 cab because im new to this thing and decided a 1x12 wud be an easy place to start, and i get it all finished, but the speaker is so quiet, even compared to my combo's native speaker, which is only 8"

why is it quiet?
-does guage of wiring affect resistance (should i have thinner or thicker wire)
-does my closed back design have something to do with it?
- are there any extra components i need other than a basic input to speaker wire connection?

sorry for the noob question but please help.
Schecter Emo-7--->Various Boss Pedals--->Peavey XXX 120watt head----->Marshall1960AV
Quote by -MintSauce-
Do I look like I need a team of helpers and trained animals to carry out my daily activities?
Quote by Invader Jim
You didn't port it, did you?

That may be it. You need to cut a couple small holes in the front (about 2 or 3" dia), below and to the sides of the speaker.

yea i got one in each bottom corner
Schecter Emo-7--->Various Boss Pedals--->Peavey XXX 120watt head----->Marshall1960AV
Quote by -MintSauce-
Do I look like I need a team of helpers and trained animals to carry out my daily activities?
did you cut a hole for the cone itself? Post some pics and we may be able to help you!
Does anybody know whether the guage of wire is an important factor? im just wondering in terms of resistance
Quote by -MintSauce-
as long as it doesn't go too far on either extreme it doesn't affect it too much. 16AWG would be plenty. I think even 20 would do.
this is gonna sound stupid, but how are u plugging ur amp into the cab?

and:
whats the power rating of the speaker?
whats the power of ur amp? (in watts)
Gibson SG Faded
Epi VJ Stack

Quote by Øttər
Whenever I clean my guitars, my family wonders why it smells so good; I say that I exude a fresh citrus scent from hidden orifices.
They stopped asking
Quote by AngusJimiKeith
this is gonna sound stupid, but how are u plugging ur amp into the cab?

and:
whats the power rating of the speaker?