So about five or six months ago I started taking classical guitar lessons and lately I have noticed that my whole left arm gets tired before I'm even finished with warm-up exercises. My teacher gave me this octave study to warm up with first thing before I'm about to play. Last week I told him I could only play the scale up and down about three times before I had to stop and take a break. He pointed out to me that my left elbow wasn't relaxed and he helped me fix this. Well this problem IS fixed (he assured me) but today I tried the exercise again and after the third time, my left arm was tired.

So I ask you UG, is there anything else that I could be doing wrong that could cause such an unnecessary strain? Or is it just because I am a beginner at classical guitar?

I should add that this does NOT happen when I play electric guitar.
Only your left arm? Weird. I dunno, I find that I have unnecessary strain on my shoulder sometimes, could that be it? Is it your whole arm, or just your wrist?
My gear:
Schecter C-1+ w/ Seymour duncan Jazz (neck) and Full Shred (bridge), with Sperzels
B-52 LG-100A 4x12 half stack
Rogue LX405 Bass
Yamaha classical
Some sort of acoustic Squier
Boss Flanger
Lyon Chorus
Quote by SchecterC-1+Man
Only your left arm? Weird. I dunno, I find that I have unnecessary strain on my shoulder sometimes, could that be it? Is it your whole arm, or just your wrist?

It's in my wrist, shoulder, and elbow.
i get the stress in my shoulder to, i think the pain will go away at around a year of experience the way yourplaying now
<\\\SuBLiME\\\> ~ ~ ~~

This is Bunny. Put him in your signature and help him on his way to world domination ...
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")