i asked this question a long time ago when i was a beginner, i feel better now, so here comes my question.

for these types of riffs, i asked whether it was better to downpick it all, alternate pick it all or economy pick. I came to a conclusion that to keep up my hand stamina when im playing these really fast songs the best is to alternate, or economy. But by the time i came to that conclusion i had already learnt how to downpick all these riffs perfectly. Needless to say i had a hard time switching. So i managed to switch and relearn these riffs. I thought it was definitely better to alternate, like there were no two says about it. Till recently i noticed that the riffs sound better all downpicked, they sound heavier and more powerful. Is this true for THESE types of riffs, don't get me wrong, i alternate pick everything else, literally.

So the question is should i just downpick these riffs

E)---------------------------------------
B)---------------------------------------
G)--------------------------------------
D)--------------------------------------
A)------7---9----7-0------12---10---
E)-0-0---0---0-------0-0-----0-----

E)--------------------------
B)--------------------------
G)--------------------------
D)--------7---- 8-----8------7--------------
A)---5-5-----5----5-----5----------------
E)--------------------------

E)---------------------------------------------------------
B)---------------------------------------------------------
G)-------------------------------------------------2-------
D)--------5---4----2-------5----4----2--------------4
A)----------------------------------------------------------
D)---2-2----2---2-----2-2---2---2------- 2-2----2----

etc.

The alternate picking usually happens on the root note, and it really does sound better, to me, when its all downpicked, just sounds way heavier. So any input would be great, thanks.

Quote by greendayguitar