I recently started playing somewhat serious gigs and I think it's about time to get a more serious amp to match. I'm going to keep my little Vox to practice with but for shows I definitely want something with more punch. At any rate, I play in a reggae / skaish / rock band so I need something very versatile. I play mostly backing riffs and lead. I want the amp to have an awesome clean tone, as well as really serious distortion for intense solos and heavier songs. Obviously all tube. Lets assume we're talking in terms of all new equipment prices and I have about $1200 to spend. Fenders have nice clean tone but the distortion is lacking, and some amps you have to crank until the ceiling caves in to get any. I've never shopped for an amp in this price range so for once I don't know where to be looking. What head and cab should I get?
I love my...

Parker Nitefly Mojo - custom
Schecter 006 Hellraiser
Ibanez S470QS

Mesa / Boogie F-50
Vox AD50VT

Seagull Artist Studio cutaway I-beam

Ibanez ATK700
Ibanez Soundwave 35
never tried either amp, but a used mesa lonestar or stilleto? supposed to have very nice cleans, as well as some good distortion sounds
Paul Reed Smith CE22
Fender Spalted Maple HH Tele
Epiphone Les Paul Standard
Korg Pitchblack
Boss GE-8 Graphic EQ
Dunlop ZW Wah
BBE Two Timer
Mesa/Boogie Mark IV Combo
Mesa/Boogie Rectifier 212

www.myspace.com/shapesofgrey
Do you need a head and cab? its just more to carry.

Id suggest (in a totally biased way) a mesa F series. its going to be used, but well worth it. and also almost half your budget. amazing cleans and gain for days.

another suggestion would be maybe the classic 30, possibly a laney or vox with an OD in front, depending on what you deem "heavy". traynor? idk, man. i know you said your budget and styles but just for myself and others, how heavy are you looking to get and where you live? also british or american voicing?
Gibson Les Paul Studio
Highway One Telecaster
Dean Evo
Mesa F-50
Laney GH50L