hey this is my first time in the acoustics and classical guitar forum since i have a question. i was in vacation in Mexico when i went into an all acoustic guitar shop. i was playing a guitar and was blown away with the sound. so i was talking to the store owner and he was telling me all the guitars there were custom and that he could make me one just like that for 10000 Mexican Pesos (roughly 1000 USD).
So honestly, i'm not much of an acoustic guy. i have a takamine that serves me well if i ever go camping or dont have an amp. so i dont really need this guitar.
but what struck me about this was that i was made of brazillian rosewood. if my memory serves me right, thats one of the most sought after woods for guitars in the US, since its illegal to be imported here. So i was thinking that maybe i can make a little cash if i get a custom from him and then sell it in the US for a little profit.

here are the specs that i remember:
Body -- brazilian rosewood
Fretboard -- ebony
Tuners made of ivory
could have a horn cut, optional
custom name on headstock -- thinking "La Bella" (which is "the beautiful in english)
handmade in mexico

thats all that i can remember, if you need any more details i can probably ask my dad if he remembers anything else.

so my question is...is it worth it? it costs 1000USD to make, could i sell it for more in the US?

other questions -- what other woods are better than the ones i listed? because he can exchange woods if i want different ones. the price may go up, but if the guitars value goes up as well, i'm all in for it.

--is the singlecut idea a plus or a minus in the guitars value? i personally like a cut body but since i'm not gonna be playing it, my preference doesnt matter.

thanks a bunch i really need this info
Last edited by Epiphany521 at Aug 17, 2008,
that sonds pretty cool...but first you need to make sure that someone would be willing to pay more than 1000 dollars, because then youre stuck with it....
Quote by RetroGunslinger