Page 1 of 2
im completely self taught and play for hours everyday. i feel like physically i am improving ever day as i am able to play faster and my fluidly through scales, but i am finding one thing thats really hard to teach yourself is phrasing techniques. i can play through scales until my fingers bleed but thats not music. i really want to start writing my own stuff and i just cant even make anything that is a satisfiable riff. im looking for any kind of advice to help with my problem and would also invite you guys to share some lessons i could find on the internet if you know of any good ones.

thanks
Quote by loganrocksabass

how can your girlfriend be in your band if she's in the kitchen?
Phrasing is something that you'll probably best learn from guitarists who are great at it. Good phrasing, to me, at least, is as much knowing when to play as what to play. While it can be cool to go crazy and play real fast, it can be better to slow down and leave some space in your playing, and not play so much, because then what you do play has a little more meaning and/or power. Albert King and B.B. King are probably two of the best players that I know of with great phrasing. Unfortunately, I'm don't know much about rage against the machine or satriani or any of the guys you like a lot, so I can't point you to any songs of theirs that show good phrasing.

Hope this helps,
claptonfan55
"Notes are expensive. . .use them wisely"-B.B. King

"It's been very important throughout my career that I've met all the guys I've copied, because at each stage they've said, 'Don't play like me, play like you."-Eric Clapton
Quote by ratm92
i can play through scales until my fingers bleed but thats not music.

Instead of making your fingers bleed, try pulling out musical qualities in the scales
when you're practicing them. They're in there, you're just not seeing or feeling
them.

A good thing to do with scale practice that's really helpful for phrasing is taking