aight so ive been playing guitar for a few years now and im gettin a bit better, right now im learning scales and some classical melodies to help with practice. whenever i try to shred it always kinda sounds the same cuz i dont really know what notes to hit so i kinda just do the same thing over and over. i wanna be able to shred sick but i have no idea what to hit. how do u experienced players do it?
we do theory for the rest of our lives. and when i worked in a guitar shop the "shred" guys would come in and shred the same scale over and over for like 1 hour, it drove me crazy, but this one time a guy came in and didnt do that and we gave him free strings cause hes awsome.
Shred on a different area of the neck.
Quote by hostilekid
shadesofanger, you're my hero.

Quote by GoldenBlues
So I was wondering, are black people capable feeling love? I mean can their brains comprehend that kind of emotion, or are they not programmed that way.
Slowwwwww down. Get to know the neck more and develop a natural feel for where the notes are. Within a year or two, you should be able to trace the melodies that you create in your head on your guitar as you play. Then you can play faster and faster while hitting exactly what you want to hit.

...modes and scales are still useless.

Quote by PhoenixGRM
Hey guys could you spare a minute to Vote for my band. Go to the site Search our band Listana with CTRL+F for quick and vote Thank you .
Quote by sam b
Voted for Patron Çıldırdı.

Thanks
Quote by PhoenixGRM
But our Band is Listana
Traditional method is to just compose something nice using your scales and some music theory to manipulate them the way you want, and then you just increase speed.
mmmmmmhmmm

That's exactly what I've been trying to say.

Quote by munkymanmatt
brilliant
Quote by frozen_soul
ok i might sound like a douchebag while saying this but what is theory

MC name = Bearrorism