So I'm building my first pedal and wanted to share the build to UG with pics. Whoo!
I'm new with electronics so I'm just doing the standard Rat circuit found on tonepad. I already ordered all the parts and I'm currently waiting for them to ship. My friend's making the circuit board for me.

So so far I've got the design ready for the package.

I've got some red paint left from my strat project so that's what I'm planning on using. I guess it's ok to left the metal bare at some parts. Should I laquer everything in that case or just the paint parts?

So nothing interesting yet but I'll be updating you when the parts arrive ;D

EDIT: Here's the design in bigger resolution
Last edited by taatelikoira at Aug 19, 2008,
looks sick! i wish i could draw....
Quote by HaKattack
Pop Tarts. Strudels are a Austrian invention; Hitler was also from Austria.
Obviously, Toaster Strudels are the same as Toaster NAZIS.
Quote by kurtlives91
The DC jack you are using will be an issue. It is not insulated so your B+ will whort to ground. Ie. the pedal wont work.

omg why would they sell stuff like that :-o

Edit: I checked it and the plug won't connect with the stuff visible outside so it'll work. drama Drama DRAMA
Last edited by taatelikoira at Sep 1, 2008,
So I soldered everything together on a breadboard but something went wrong and now I need yer halp >: (

"Why does my pedal have a horrid crackling or "gating" sound when I play? I have to hit the strings really hard to get it to make sound and it's horrible....."
<----- That's my case exactly!

When I'm playing chords/rhythm I get a distorted sound but the signal quickly dies of crackling. Soloing is impossible since the notes only sound when picked and then die off immediately - zero feedback, zero sustain.

I found this site describing a cure but my problem is I'm not a native speaker and therefore I find it hard to understand this wall of electricity related text. So what I want is someone to roughly explain what I'm to do lol.