I'm 17, I've been playing for about 4 years but for a few reasons I'm not as good as I should be in that amount of time. I know basic theory (chords, circle of fifths, intervals, modes, etc.) and I can read music. I haven't memorized a bunch of scale patterns; I figure them out more by knowing the notes on the fretboard and what notes are in the scale. I can play at a decent speed but I'm no shredder or anything, and besides changing strings I don't know anything about guitar maintenance. If I wanted to teach in a year or two, what should I work on?
Play the music, not the instrument. ~Author Unknown

blackzeppelion
Who's the band that could become the next led zeppelin?
Ovenman
Iron blimp.
J.A.M
Aluminum helicopter.
Ovenman
*Breaks out periodic table* Magnesium bi-plane.
i recommend getting some lessons from a good guitar teacher, you want to be able to teach good technique to your students. knowledge wise however you want to know more than your students.
most of my guitar teachers were only at the school to teach orchestra guitar is more of an afterthought. class always sucks. but then again it is a public school.
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
i love me some bunnys

--> --> --> -->

Anybody up for a WookieCore Band? You let me know.

Watch me as i Rock on...
As much as I hate to say this... Since you're going to be approximately 19 when you start teaching, you'll have to learn some shreddy stuff. Your students will be young, and 99% percent of beginning guitarists are impressed by shred. They will also trust you more.

+1 to gonzaw's thing. You have to know how to teach.