DISCLAIMER: im pretty new to UG, so i dunno if theres already a tuning thread, i did a search for it and nothing official looking came up, so im making one here.

secondly, i dont know whether this should be in the pit or not, but since most users use this place, il post here..

well, anyway, i recently bought an ibanez starter model, which is pretty much supposed to play mainly metal music, but whenever i drop it in to D it just makes a buzzing noize whenever i fret after the 5 fret, and i cant put it in anything lower than a D 'cause the whole string just goes floppy and totally unplayable, heartbreaking since most of my fav songs are played in B/C..

so if anyone could suggest anything i should to i.e. new strings etc id be happy to hear it

thanks in advance
Exactly how floppy does it go? The difference in tension should be minimal between E and D.

ಠ_ಠ

wat

Could be the cheapness of your guitar as well.
Military use of children?

Infantry.
Either:

Raise your action a tad bit and/or get heavier gauge strings. Im assuming you use 9s or something, so try a set of 10s (DR ftw)
:stickpoke

Baby, if I were biscuits and you were gravy, I'd sop you up

FIGHT IGNORANCE

"I fear for my flesh, but I fear for my spirit even more..."
Quote by Kneusje
Could be the cheapness of your guitar as well.

alas, if it were true...but nah'...its a £179 quality ibanez model
make sure your in right octave.
Quote by Eliyahu
Mr.Cuddles killed The Metal!!!! FUCK YES!

Quote by TheReverend724
Mr Cuddles pretty much nailed it...

Quote by thanksgiving

"Oh Mr.Cuddles, you make my pants go boom boom. I are horny. Do not disappoint I"

Viscara (my band)
Quote by Jaymz_515
Exactly how floppy does it go? The difference in tension should be minimal between E and D.

nope

theres a big difference between E-D, its about 0.3-4cm-ish guessin its broked then??
Quote by KiLLSWiTCH-KnoT
nope

theres a big difference between E-D, its about 0.3-4cm-ish guessin its broked then??