Hey guys...ok...here is where I'm getting frustrated. I've been playing guitar for at least six years now...but I seem to have hit a bit of a wall. I haven't been getting any better at anything...not even my own style that I kinda ripped from Cherub Rock....should I get some books....study a certain artist...study music theory...anything! Serisously, it's starting to piss me off that I can't really come up with too much....and I don't hate power chords, but unless I'm with another guitarist, bassist, singer, or drummer, I try my best not to use them so much. I even bought an Epiphone Les Paul Standard as a starting point....but I just don't seem to pass it...

Has anyone else hit that wall???
You're not inspired to improve.
"The future's uncertain, and The End is always near."
-Jim Morrison
Quote by RiotStartsHere
Hey guys...ok...here is where I'm getting frustrated. I've been playing guitar for at least six years now...but I seem to have hit a bit of a wall.

There's a difference between owning a guitar and playing it, its obvious that you have not been playing for 6 years if Cherub rock is your limit.

Be honest with me and I'll try to help you.
Rag Mop Do Do Duh DoDo Dedo Do!!!!!

R_A_G_G_M_O_P_P

RAGMOP
I don't know Cherub Rock, but based on the above post I'll assume they're not the most technical band there is, but if you know what style music you want to play, then it doesn't matter if you just play powerchords or if you can play like Petrucci, if it fits the style and if it sounds good it's ok. But if you just want to improve technically there are thousands of lessons on this site, learn different scales, difficult fingering positions, hard picking patterns, unusual timings, ..
We are "PSYCHONAUT", Psychedelic/Stoner/Sludge from Belgium.

Check out our recordings and shows here:

BandCamp
YouTube
FaceBook
I kinda seems like it is though...true I've been playing on and off but more on obviously...