I'm putting this in the Bandleading thread because I want some other bandleader's opinions on this.

I've suffered with RSI for several years, well before I started playing music. More recently I've had several very painful episodes of this more recently.

The only problem comes with my band commitments. I am currently running between three bands, including my own band and my church worship band and uni band.

With the risk that I need surgery becoming increasingly likely, I am considering two options.

1) Quitting all bands until I am fit to play properly again. This would mean I was completely free of any band commitments but would leave three bands without a bass player and would mean I would have to start all over again in getting back into the bands.

2) Asking for extended leave. This would leave my position open but it woiuld mean I would still have to participate in the more administrative stuff still and I could fall behind in terms of new songs. I also don't know how long I'm I'm going to be off for.

So, any ideas? What do you think is the best?
Personally Id ask for an extended leave so you can get the surgery if it comes to that so that way when your recovered you can just jump right back into the game so you wont have to search for other bands.
Quote by metalcore123
I hate trying to cover up my cheese in school because the bimbo next to me dislikes the smell of pure love.

I'm bringing farts back!
dude if ur sick and playin is causing you severe pain you should stop and get it sorted

i say stick with them on the sidelines and act as a manager or wateva
sacrificial beaver of the laney cult

~Gear~

Schecter C-7 Hellraiser
ESP LTD F-2005
Laney VH100R *with free cab*
Roland Cube 60
Cort Acoustic