Hey I'm still fairly new to guitar playing (about 8 months) and have invested some time into music theory. But once I hear talk about modes or blues and jazz, i get totally lost. Does anyone know a good book about music theory? or should i just stick to google-ing it?
Epiphone G-310 SG
Epiphone Hummingbird
Yamaha CG-101
Peavey Classic 30
well there's a load of good stuff on this site...
like - http://ultimate-guitar.com/lessons/for_beginners/learning_music_theory_the_beginning.html
that, and the crusade.

there's also a bunch of stuff elsewhere on the internet if you want links i'll dig 'em up for you, but i was suggested an idiot's guide to music theory, haven't picked it up yet unfortunately, so i can only recommend it by word of mouth.

the good thing about a book would be is it is more accessible as it is done by professionals and on the internet it's most undoubtedly not, rather just knowledgeable individuals prepared to spare some time for poor folk like us. because this is the case they probably don't waste their time reading over their work, therefore errors are inevitable. also with books you will usually get more of a walk through experience telling you exactly what to do, and when.

actually it might have been music theory for dummies...i don't remember haha.
Last edited by tona_107 at Aug 21, 2008,
Quote by tona_107
i was suggested an idiot's guide to music theory

The Idiot's Guide to Music Theory held in public library FTW!

First time I've ever used that.

I took a gander at it, and I have to look over it again because there are some things I thought I already knew. Lots of (good, understandable)info and guitar stuff in the appendix, too.
someone really needs to get around to scanning the whole book and putting it on the internet ahah, why should the library get all the glory for giving out books for free, HMM?
Last edited by tona_107 at Aug 21, 2008,