I'm new with EMGs and active pickups in general. I heard that they are powered by batteries; 9V?. If so, do you have to occassionally replace the battery/how long do they last?
they last for a really long time, something like 3,000 hours. just make sure you unplug your guitar when you're done playing.
i used to be a mod, then i took an arrow in the knee.
3,000 hours for one, 1,500 for a pair. I haven't replaced mine yet. I play 2-3 hours a day and I've had mine since June.
GEAR:
Schecter C-1 Hellraiser FR
Schecter Gryphon w/ Tone Zone & PAF Pro
Peavey Valveking 112 w/Eminence Texas Heat
Line 6 Space Chorus
Marshall Echohead
Morley Power Wah Volume
BOSS MT-2
Vox Satchurator
You also may want to try the 18v mod if you getting EMG's. But yeah mikeyelite explained it enough, but I thought it was 1,000 hours not 3,000; either way, that's a lot of playing time.
Schecter C-1 Elite
Gretsch 5120
Fender Ultra-Chorus Amp
it should last on average about a year. i've had mine since '05 and only changed it twice. once because i didn't know to unplug it after each use, and the second time when i did the 18v mod to it.
Gibson SG Standard + 18volt EMG-81 & 85
Mesa/Boogie Mark IV + Recto 2x12
Keeley Modded BD-2
Vox V847a
Quote by one vision
Bureaucrats gonna crat.

Recognised by the Official EG/GG&A Who To Listen To List 2008
So when I'm done playing I should unplug my guitar even though the amp's off? And how do you replace the battery? On a Jackson Rhoads RR24 there's a slot for the batteries but I don't see that on other guitars. Thanks.
Quote by JoKi&&Guitar
So when I'm done playing I should unplug my guitar even though the amp's off? And how do you replace the battery? On a Jackson Rhoads RR24 there's a slot for the batteries but I don't see that on other guitars. Thanks.
Unplug the cable from the input on your guitar, not your amp.

You take the little cover off in the back and cavity in the back with the pots should have the battery in there somewhere.