Hey people, what's up. Im new to U.G. In a few days I'm gonna be purchasing a Dean Dimebag Cemetery gates '08 Electric Guitar (If you know Metal, you know this guit.). However I don't really know anything about amplifiers. What I'm looking for is an amp for about $300 or less that has at least enough loudness and heavy, heavy distortion (Pantera, Megadeth, Killswitch, Slayer, Godsmack, Disturbed, and so on.) people keep telling me to get a marshall but im unsure. What would you guys recommend? Also what the heck is a tube guitar amp? Thanks a lot in advance[,
Chills.

[edit] Also, is a dist. pedal really all that necessary? I'm not gonna be doin any gigs any time soon. Just want to sound as good as possible. Thanks Again.
Last edited by chills420 at Aug 23, 2008,
Im in southern Ont. Canada, but im not afraid to order online from the states. doesn't really matter if its used or new buts its gotta have that heavy metal sound and dist.
MEGADETH, PANTERA, METALLICA, ANTHRAX, DISTURBED, KILLSWITCH ENGAGED, ALL THAT REMAINS
METAL!!!!! F**KIN' EH!
Tube amps use tubes with filaments to amplify tone, giving you much fuller and better sound. Solid state amps are digital amplifiers. They don't sound as good but there are some decent ones. Hybrid amps use a combination of tube and digital technology.

I recommend the Vox AD30VT. Modeling amp with good tone and effects. There is a new XL line for higher gain out now too.
Hmm...

I'm kinda shakey on this one. I'm wanting to recommend a good tube amp that would work well with what you want (peavey Windsor studio), but I don't know if that'll be overkill.

Peavey Vypyr or Cube woud work for what you want, and you can get a tube amp later, if you so choose, I guess.
go Randall man, Randall makes probably the best solid state amps around!
coming from a Marshall guy...
same amps i mentioned then i think. going to bed so take some more advice.

i think Craigslist is now extended to Canada no?