I just returned from Guitar Center, & I was gonna buy the Line 6 Spider III amp head, but was a bit disappointed by it. I was wondering if anyone knew a good head for playing anything good from metal to just mellow tunes. I had a gt1200h Crate head with a Crate G412 cab. So I'll be playing it through the G412 cab.

Oh yeah, can(forexample) a 120watt cab play with like a 150watt head? Just wondering, since I'm an amp noob.

Thanks for any help! :]
Quote by H4T3BR33D3R
How 'bout a nice combo instead of some P.O.S cheap solid-state stacks?

Well, I want it to play some shows.
Quote by AestheticSelkie
Well, I want it to play some shows.

You don't need a stack to play shows.

I have a 40 watt combo that I gig with. It works fine.

I've gigged with a 15 watter as well.

There's really no point in a stack. You'll never use it's full potential. A cranked 100 watter is LOUD. Too loud for many applications.

Combos are portable too.
Quote by H4T3BR33D3R
You don't need a stack to play shows.

I have a 40 watt combo that I gig with. It works fine.

I've gigged with a 15 watter as well.

There's really no point in a stack. You'll never use it's full potential. A cranked 100 watter is LOUD. Too loud for many applications.

Combos are portable too.

So you don't know any decent solidstate heads? I have the cab, so I might as well get a head. I can go for a combo another time.
any (head+cab) under $1500 (new) either 1) sounds like **** or 2) is poorly built and uses cheap parts or 3) both.

I don't play huge stadium gigs, and I will be lucky if a sound man at a club will ever let me turn my 30 watt amp past 5.

There are decent solid state heads, just not for cheap.
Quote by AestheticSelkie
So you don't know any decent solidstate heads? I have the cab, so I might as well get a head. I can go for a combo another time.

You don't need to buy solid state heads. There are good ones though. Randall makes great ones. You can get somewhat decent tube ones for the same price.