Hey guys. Been playing for about 10 years now. Acoustic isn't much of problem for me when it comes to my massive paws. However, I just got a Mex Strat as a gift and while it's definitely a step up from the Squier I've been rocking for 7+ years, I still get a lot of muted strings etc when it comes to certain chords. Certain bar chord shapes are hard to pull off, too, not technically but...physically.

So, what Brands/Models are out there that feature considerably larger/wider necks? I know Baritones get the job done but from what I've been reading, tuning a Baritone EADGBE isn't the wisest idea. And I'm pretty much a standard tuning guy. Anyways, thanks in advance for any and all help!

-CT
the cuervo gold / the fine columbian / make tonight a wonderful thing
try heavier strings. your acoustic probably has a lot heavier strings than the strat
Originally posted by primusfan
When you crank up the gain to 10 and switch to the lead channel, it actually sounds like you are unjustifiably bombing an innocent foreign land.

╠═══════╬═══════╣
τλε τρπ βπστλεπλσσδ
╠═══════╬═══════╣
I have huge hands too, like freakishly huge which is made worse by me being absolutely tiny.

I have a Gibson with a fat neck, it works out pretty well for me, but if your a strat guy you could always look in to getting your neck scalloped, that should help a lot with the muting, also don't take my word as gospel, I've never really had a problem with my hands, I actually think of them as an advantage because I can do some crazy stretches.

Maybe your best bet would be talking to someone who overcame a similar problem, and when you say huge hands do you mean fat fingers like Yngwie or ridiculously long fingers like I have?
Rawr! I'm a dinosaur
Les Paul...

They tend to have wider necks. Also, what do you mean by 'big hands'?
Originally Posted by evening_crow
Quoting yourself is cool.

WARNING: I kill threads.