So, both of these are £250, and as the Tascam has more inputs, i'm edging towards it as it will be used to record drums.

However, i am by no means an expert on the subject and i know some of the guys in here are so i was looking for a second opinion. Which of these two is best?

Tascam US-1641 Usb 2.0 Audio/Midi Interface
http://www.e-av.co.uk/info.php?id=8527

M-Audio Fast Track Ultra 8x8 USB 2.0 Audio MIDI Interface
http://www.imuso.co.uk/ProductDetail.asp?StockCode=ST01047

Or am i missing a better unit completely? I can go no higher pricewise and i do not have a firewire port so they are out of the question.

Thanks very much for reading, any comments are much appreciated.
Both will work well...just know that by getting USB you'll end up with a stereo signal only. If you have a desktop, Firewire's a very easy option to add on...otherwise, I'd go for the Tascam.
Quote by keiron_d
thank you sooooooo much for the advice Fast_Fingers...i would hug you if i could...i looooove you!

True love exists in UG. Can you feel it?

Recording Guitar Amps 101
Quote by Fast_Fingers
Both will work well...just know that by getting USB you'll end up with a stereo signal only. If you have a desktop, Firewire's a very easy option to add on...otherwise, I'd go for the Tascam.

And having a stereo signal only means...? (Sorry, just getting into this)

And i do have a desktop, but the drums will be recorded at a mates house, with a laptop. I know we could add firewire to both but is there really a big enough difference is sound quality for it to be worth the hassle?
it means all of your inputs (the four on the M-Audio product) will be mixed down to a stereo track....this makes editing drums extremely hard.

see my first video pinned at the top of this section if you have not already.
For tracking drums firewire is a much better choice. You can easily send each input to its own track in the software instead of having it mixed...
Quote by moody07747