I'm going to NY in a few days for a week and i'm going to see the main sights, its my first time so i'm going to see the touristy stuff, eg Liberty, Empire State.
To any people in UG who live in NY or go there reguarly, are there places i should look for or are interesting and not that touristy?
Any good guitar shops?

Quote by Spoonman69
Rap is music,far better than metal for example. id much rather hear about hoes and anal sex than dragons and supressed homosexuality.
Theres a wax museum near Times Square
its awesome thye got wax of johnny cash, jimi hendrix, elvis, ozzy..just so many

its a fun thing to do if youre bored over there
their is a candy store, near times square i think. from outside it looks glorious and abundant in size, but once you go inside you'll notice it's very tiny. new york's greatest **** tease.
I just got back from Manhattan last week. It was my first time as well.

Best Italian restaurant I've ever eaten is called "Joe G's"

Best sushi I've ever eaten- "Rubi Foo's"

There are some good guitar shops all within a block of each other. Sam Ash, Manny's (the best), and some other one I don't remember. (Google them for directions)

Supposedly one of the world's largest guitar centers is there too. Didn't get to go.

Virgin records in time square is amazing. They have EVERYTHING.

Ground Zero was very moving, Central park was cool (make sure to get a tour guide or you wont know what ANYTHING is), the empire state building was breath-taking at night.

Oh yeah, west of central park is "the dakota". It's a building that famous people live in. It's the building where John lennon was shot right in front of the gate. Across from the Dakota in central park is Strawberry fields, a memorial to John Lennon.
Mmm I love the city. I only get there like once every 2 months though...

I like to go to Times Square, lots of sights and shops, quite a few guitar shops all in close proximity.