So, i've been playing guitar for about 3 years now... and this is completely embarassing, but since i taught myself and such, I never had anyone show me how to change strings.
So, I tried a couple videos on Youtube, and most of them didn't make sense to me, and I could never get it to work.
So, I found this video..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ae7HsWFRdYY
Which I was able to do flawlessly. However, most guitars I see restrung have like, 3-4 wrap arounds, where this one has like... 1. Is this going to rob tone or sound terrible?
-D
This is a clever, witty signature. Rofl at my glory.
More wraps is better, in general, since it provides more grip for the strings to stay put with.

I usually use 3-4 myself. 1 wrap might make things go out of tune more quickly than you'd like, but so long as it's in the saddle and the nut and has the right amount of tension in it, it should be fine tone-wise.

*edit* Having actually watched the video, I prefer to wrap strings around and then once I've put enough string on the peg put the end of the string through the last wrap around the peg. Then use pliers to pull the whole thing at the peg tight; and use the tuners to put it in tune.

Other good habits when tuning are to only have one string missing from the guitar at once (so the neck doesn't bend, probably paranoia on my part since the neck won't warp permanently over the amount of time it takes to change strings), to take dirt/dust/etc off the fretboard/ other bits the string's usually over when changing strings (because dirt can't be doing any good).

I think that's all.
Last edited by MopMaster at Aug 25, 2008,
Quote by xkingd117x
So, i've been playing guitar for about 3 years now... and this is completely embarassing, but since i taught myself and such, I never had anyone show me how to change strings.
So, I tried a couple videos on Youtube, and most of them didn't make sense to me, and I could never get it to work.
So, I found this video..