my 9 year old brother wants to start learning guitar , but my parents cant afford lessons right now , for me or for him , so i am the only one able to teach him. I have been playing for 8 months , and i am mostly self taught. I would like to know what i should teach him . It would be very kind if someone wrote a short list for the order i should teach him stuff. I dont want to overwhelm him , but i dont want to bore him either. i want him to really have fun doing it, and i know if i fail now , it will really damage his motivation and love for the guitar.An example of the list , would be to show , some good riffs , chords,songs ,techniques and what order he should learn them . An example would be should i teach him legato techniques before chords etc.thank you for your help =]
start by teaching him the basic chords, then teach him alternate picking and make him practice barrel chords and major and minor scales.. best way to start imho
Teach him a few chords first, especially open chords. Then teach him a chord progression to a song he likes, then if the song calls for it teach him the riffs from that. Then teach him about power chords, hammer ons and pull offs, and slides.

Basically you just wanna get him from the very basic things to more complex things, but introduce him things in the form of things he recognizes, like songs he likes, etc.
shouldnt i first teach himm some simple one string riffs first instead of chords, so he gets the hang how how to play notes invidually , and then he will have an easier time with chords?
Ask him what kind of stuff he wants to play. There's no point putting theory on his back if he doesn't want to. You could see if theres anything special he likes to listen to, and you can take it from there.