I'm a complete theory noob and need some help, i need to find out how to solo over the chords F major add 9th, Am7 and C. I need to know if it is possible to solo over them, what key, and what scale (i would like the pentatonic or blues scale but is it possible to use the pentatonic or blues over them chords). Please don't flame me if these are stupid questions, i have only played guitar for 8 months and not learnt much theory.
this is the stickyest incident since stick the sticky stick insect got stuck on a sticky bun
You can solo over anything bro!

I think the relative key is C,
so you should start with F Lydian,
(F-G-A-B-C-D-E-F) on the f major add 9,

Then perhaps switch to A Aeolian
(A-B-C-D-E-F-G-A)

and then c Ionian on the c

And you should be set.

You could **** around with a blues and it might sound alright. Since the Aeolian (natural minor scale) is A too.
(C-D-E-F-G-A--B-C)
Quote by vintage x metal
My toilet has seen some scenes that one would describe as 'deathcore'
It looks to me like your in the key of F so you could solo in the F major pentatonic or D minor pentatonic. and yes it is possible to use the blues scale over the chords also.

Yeah manmaster above me is likely more correct although you could do my suggestion I would try his first.
1990 Gibson LP Studio
2007 American Deluxe Stratocaster
2006 Taylor 510-ce
Fender Geddy Lee Jazz Bass
Mesa/Boogie DC-3
Im pretty sure thats right. Keep in mind that you can solo over ANY PROGRESSION! At all! Even
crazy random chromatic ups and down and any of the crazy jazz **** that barely makes sense.

Also, you can use arpeggios in your solo, if you end up playing "on the chord"

Or, you could be lazy and mess around in C major until you hit some choice tones.
Quote by vintage x metal