What amp would be good for garry moore -still got the blue and parisienne walkways sound? WOuld a laney vc30 212 with OD be good?
Music is the holy grail, sod wine water and the blood of jesus
Well Gary uses Handwired Marshalls, but im guessing they may not be what your after, however he also uses a Marshall Govner pedal, which is quite cheap and may help.

Edit: Also don't forget the neck pickup in his Les Paul for these recordings had somehow had its poles reversed, creating a unique sound.

I cant however comment on your suggestion of amp, as I have never used one of those ones before.
Last edited by *powerslave* at Aug 26, 2008,
I believe he uses Soldanos and Cornfords too nowadays. I think the base of his tone is a plexi (or something similar) pushed to 10, then boosted with a pedal or two. While the VC 30 is a great amp, it doesn't sound anywhere near fat enough to sund like him. The best way to sound like him on a budget is to pick up a Laney AOR pro tube head or combo off ebay. They're very cheap, yet do the JCM800 thing extremely well.

Quote by Skraeling86
That's a lot of booze. Frankly, I'm impressed. You're of a stronger timber than the average man, jimbob! Hail you.

Quote by Bubban
Yes you should go to a doctor, fucking moron. We can't do anything about your hemorrhoid.

I'd assume you'd need to turn it up pretty loud too to get the natural overdrive sound
Quote by alexlemon2
I'd assume you'd need to turn it up pretty loud too to get the natural overdrive sound

Yeah I heard Gary on the radio saying how he tests his amps volume, and apparently he stands next to them, plays a powerchord, and if it doesnt make his trousers flap, its not loud enough

But is trouser flapping even possible
I think you could do it with a VC30, but you'll need a Marshall Guv'nor to really kick that tone and beef it up (it has a deep control to make it fatter). They're only about £40/$50 or something like that.
Cam Sampbell's my hero
Quote by Lil Macker