So I am in the market for a new guitar. I have been playing for about 6 months. And consider myself an intermediate player. My current guitars are:

Gibson Melody Maker - Vintage Sunburst

Epiphone SG - Heritage Cherry

Squier Strat

I have been reading all the reviews on musiciansfriend.com and was still looking for some more input. So I was wondering if some people could give me their opinions on The Epiphone les paul. I know that epiphones dont really compare to gibsons in any way but Its hard to justify 1000 dollars if you can get a comparable version for 500. This is the model in particular that I am looking into:

Epiphone Limited Edition Les Paul Custom

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Epiphone-Limited-Edition-Les-Paul-Custom-104065958-i1168180.gc?mode=1&sort=2

I have heard some people say Epiphones are much better in quality then they used to be, and I have also heard some horror stories. Personally I am really please with the build quality and playability of my Epiphone SG. So i guess the main question is, Do you think it is worth 500 dollars. Or would it be smarter to just save for alittle longer and get this (a low end gibson les paul):

Gibson Les Paul Vintage Mahogany Electric Guitar

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Gibson-Les-Paul-Vintage-Mahogany-Electric-Guitar-103371357-i1149476.gc

On a side note i was also consider buying a solid body acoustic electric guitar. I am looking to only purchase one that has a solid top back and sides, and in the 500 dollar range that is pretty rare. I even made sure and got a quote from guitar center and they assured me that it was completely solid and not laminate. But i did manage to find a Laguna Guitar that had those two requirements:

Laguna LG Series LG4CEBUB Cutaway Acoustic Electric Guitar

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Laguna-LG-Series-LG4CEBUB-Cutaway-Acoustic-Electric-Guitar-104501341-i1391539.gc