My budget is 700. I want a good amp, that will last me maybe 5 years. I'm just a HS student, so i don't really need to worry about the best gear, yet. I want something for good leads, and to get those Iron-Maiden-like dual-synthesized tones, as well as deep, heavy riffs from the death metal and hardcore genre. I also like a good range of effects. Feel free to add some pedals, particularly: distortion, flanger, delay, reverb, chorus, phaser and wah. Off course, my first priority is the amp, and i can always buy effects later.

My gear:

Standard Fender Strat HSS
Boss DS-1
Cheap 15-watt amp
Where is the general area that you are located? Because depending on where you live, you can find some good deals on Craigslist.

Things to look for that will go at a price within your range (assuming you mean $700)

Peavy Ultra
Peavey 5150
Genz Benz El Diablo
Krank Revolution
Ampeg VH-104
B-52 AT-212
Peavey Windsor
Peavey Valveking

Amoung others.
Why not try a Peavey ValveKing? They're relatively inexpensive tube amps with decent cleans. Distortion-wise they're not so great, but of course you can always add a distortion pedal to balance things out.
How picky are you about tone anyway? I consider myself rather picky with good tone and based on all the amps I've tried out under $1,000, I really didn't like any.
Peavey Valveking or a Randall RG50TC with an overdrive pedal or a Bugera 6262. That's if you want to buy new. If you can go used maybe a Peavey 5150/6505.
Quote by imgooley
Where is the general area that you are located? Because depending on where you live, you can find some good deals on Craigslist.

Things to look for that will go at a price within your range (assuming you mean $700)

Peavy Ultra
Peavey 5150
Genz Benz El Diablo
Krank Revolution
Ampeg VH-104
B-52 AT-212
Peavey Windsor
Peavey Valveking

Amoung others.

Add an RG50tc and some Bugeras and that is a good list.
However I don't think the Windsor or valvekings are really worth looking at.
Quote by i_suck