Hey guys. I'm fairly new to EQing bass. You see, I really want a good punchy punk sound like the song in this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5jlLVfyrOcQ . I'm worried I'll have to buy a new amp but before I go through all that, I wanted to ask you guys what you thought.

I'm running a Squier vintage modified 70's jazz bass with a quarter pounder in the bridge through an SWR bass 350 head. It's got a tube preamp. I'm running that head through a fender bassman 410 cabinet. I've been looking at some mesa cabinets (specifically the powerhouse 410) and am wondering if that will improve my sound by a lot. Any help is appreciated
-Fender American Deluxe Jazz Bass
-Tech 21 Sansamp RBI
-Mesa Powerhouse 212
-Fender Bassman 410
-Tons of other bass/guitar gear

FAST MELODIC PUNK! CHECK OUT MY BAND!
therowleyestate.bandcamp.com
If you're not already playing with a pick, that would definitely get you closer. Using heavy compression and boosting the mids will help too. 4x10s tend to be pretty punchy and although I haven't liked SWRs when I've played them in the stores, I know some bassists who get great punchy sound out of them. Your amp/cab probably isn't the problem.
I do play with a pick. My sound is Trebly, it just lacks that "punch". Should I maybe look into a compressor?
-Tech 21 Sansamp RBI
-Mesa Powerhouse 212
-Fender Bassman 410

That's easy, just play with a pick, leave bass flat (nothing taken or given) and boost middle and treble to taste.

EDIT: For future reference your mids are your punch, if you have tons of mid you'll have a strong attacking sound. don't go too far though, overly prominent bass will clutter the music up in most genres.
"I hope I die before I get old"-Words of Pete Townsend, 1945-

"I hope I die before I turn into Pete Townsend"-Words of Kurt Cobain, 1967-1994

Funny old world eh.
Last edited by wouldyakindly at Aug 29, 2008,
fender_punk wat does the VM jazz sound like with the quarter pounder??
Twitter: ScottWotton
Tumblr: ScottWotton