Hey all,

Just writing this thread coz my guitar playing has taken a turn for the worse lately...

I recently had to leave my band due to work commitments, I sold my gig/practice gear and my playing time has dropped off significantly...

I can't remember any songs and I'm sloppy as hell... As you can tell, I'm not happy with the situation.

I guess my question is this; I've always been a rythym player. I've been playing seriously for about 2 years - The band I was in played suffocation and the like, so I'm not a rubbish player.

I have next to no lead abilities - I can play some solos but I really want to be able to bust out those ridiculously fast, shredding solos that so many of our favourite deathe metal bands perform.

How do I get there? I can play fast and technical rythym parts, but as soon as I move up the neck slightly and try to shread, I fall flat. I can't figure out why...

Can anyone suggest anything besided play 1-2-3-4-1-2-3-4 faster and faster in one place...?

Anything at all would be really appreciated!

Thanks guys,

Dan
Gear List;

Laney VH100R with Matching Cab
Ibanez RGT42FM
Schecter C-1+
BC Rich Neck Thru Warlock
ISP Noise Decimator
Ibanez TS9
although im not a shred player, what really helped me with my lead playing was mainly playing scales A LOT, and also slowing down solos in songs and then gradually speeding them up
Gear:

MIA Fender Stratocaster
Jackson Kelly KE3
Ibanez Universe
Marshall JCM 800
Orange Jim Root Terror
Mesa 2x12
Ovation Custom Balladeer
pedals and such in profile
Does 'no lead abilities' mean you struggle with techniques like tapping and sweep picking? I'd say these would be good techniques to use for a death metal style, which probably won't need as much practise as all out shredding.