Alright guys,

I currently have a Crate GT65. It belts it out but I don't play in a band. I'm a bit bored of it and I'm not sure if it does my guitar justice (Gibson LP Studio). I'm thinking of getting a Marshall MG30DFX.

Does anyone think this is a good move?

I don't know a huge amount about amps but I'm thinking in terms of tone and overall sound it may well be better.

Thanks for any advice.
if you used the search bar, you would know

what's your budget
types of music you play
do you gig/play in a band
what country do you live in?
search bar?

I'm big into Metallica and GUns and Roses. I'm an average guitarist and I don't gig. Just self taught to a half decent standard.

I'm in the UK and looking to spend £100-£150.
Anything (almost) but an MG. A Vox Valvetronix amp would be muuuch better, or a Roland Cube.
umm no dont buy an mg, i have the marshall 30dfx mg series one ... and distortion totally blows ****. Cleans are alright though.
okay, do they give u the digitalness that the marshall would give u? I've never tried those before, i'm a noob when it comes to amps.

Would i be rgith in thinking that i could do a lot better than the crate if im not gigging?
i say keep the amp you have and buy a multi effects unit from digitech or line 6 or something, a line 6 POD would probably work for u then u can get a wide variety of tones and still keep your crate. if you want the marshall tone u just turn on the marshall emulator on the POD and bam your good... a much better choice than getting a marshall mg i would say.
ah right, what if u added a distortion pedal, is it alright?

I guess a metallica ish sound would be out of the question w/o one
everyone will advise against the marshall mg's

Epi Les Paul Std w/Duncans
ESP LTD EX260
Cry Baby From Hell
Marshall JH-1
EHX Metal Muff
MXR EVH Phase 90
Carl Martin Classic Chorus
EHX #1 Echo
Ibanez LU-20
Dunlop DCB-10
Crate V50112
Tascam US144

PEDALBOARD JUNKIES
lol, they sound pretty bad then.