I've been playing for four years self-taught. My problem, if it is a problem, is that I use two different ways of holding the pick for different techniques.

I kinda hold the pick with my fingers straight, which feels most relaxing and natural and works very nicely for nearly everything except when I need to do 16ths (including triplets and similar techniques).

When I'm about to do 16ths, my hand changes so the pick is between my bent index finger and thumb, which is almost identical to the "correct" way of picking, except I can't reach more than 3 strings with this hand position due to anchoring my palm, which also means I can't up/down strum chords slower than 8ths in this position.

I've been experimenting a lot with other ways of holding the pick with no real success. I've tried to stick to the standard way of picking, but it feels way too unnatural if I don't anchor.

You can see my pick holding techniques on my profile page.

So should I try to develop either one of these techniques to be all purpose, or give both up and relearn how to hold a pick completely?
There isn't any real way to hold a pick. It's player preference.

Just some key things to remember, always feel comfortable, no stress, just smooth. This is obtained by starting everything slow. Even double picking should feel easy and smooth, little effort involved.

Also, don't anchor your palm unless you have too (ie palm muting etc..)

You always wanna be able to get the sound you want, and a lot of this has to do with where on the string or over which pickup you are playing over.

Plucking strings more above the neck pickup compared to the bridge pickup will give drastically different results. Again, this is all about sound preference. But you wanna be able to shift seamlessly from one pickup position to the other, and this is one of the reasons you wanna play more with the palm un-anchored.