Okay. So basically I'm buying a whole new setup, now that I've been playing my Squier Strat on my little 15G amp for about three years. The guitar/amp setup that I'm looking for is one that produces a good pop/punk and alternative sound. Ex. Blink 182, Paramore, New Years Day, Green Day, My Chemical Romance, etc.

What are some guitars and amps that would be good for this kind of music?

Secondly, if I were to really pursue this genre(s) of music, what effects pedals would I need?
ud want phasers ( phase 90 is the industry standard), DS-1 distortion because metal zones n metal cores are too heavy for pop/punk, wah pedal of some kind for obvious reasons (or u can use it a filter that u leave in place), chorus, delay
well whats you budget first of all?
Gear:

MIA Fender Stratocaster
Jackson Kelly KE3
Ibanez Universe
Marshall JCM 800
Orange Jim Root Terror
Mesa 2x12
Ovation Custom Balladeer
pedals and such in profile
Quote by funkymonkz
well whats you budget first of all?

Well, I'm trying not to go over 1000 to 2000 dollars. So I don't need like super top of the line stuff, but definitely better than a pitiful squier and a 15 watt.
I have the Visual Sound Jekyll and Hyde overdrive/distortion pedal. Amazing pedal with a wide range of tones for a big price tag of $150, but IMO I love it. I play the same genre as you pretty much and this pedal does the job.
well no offense but i hate all those bands you mentioned and pop-punk
GEAR
Schecter Omen-6 FloydRose (Gloss Black)
Boss: Metal Zone
Boss: Pw- 10 v-wah
Boss: Ac-2
Crate: BX-40 Bass Amp
Classic Guitar
Schecter: Omen-4 Diamond Series Bass (Walnut Satin)
Peavey huge amp (I dont have it yet just saw it 1 time)
Quote by dante_3_16
well no offense but i hate all those bands you mentioned and pop-punk

Then why are you in this thread?

I recommend a Michael Kelly guitar:
http://guitars.musiciansfriend.com/navigation/michael-kelly-guitars-mandolins-cases-electric-guitars?N=100001+202716+304275