I've been teaching myself electric guitar for about 5 months (my friend's old righty Ibanez) and am getting lessons soon. However I have never really used a pick in all that time. I couldn't get the hang of them and they just felt kind of "wrong" in my right hand (I'm left handed). I have found that a pick feels more natural if held in my left hand but if I turn my guitar upside down, the hands being the other way round feels completely alien.

I enjoy playing without a pick but feel that it is really limiting what i can and cannot play and I much prefer the crisp sound that a pick makes to the slightly dull sound made by fingers.

Could someone please give me their opinion about what I should do about this? Keep playing as I already am? Force myself to use a pick right handed (i struggle to even do simple things like use a fork right handed)? Or do I give lefty playing a shot and effectively cancel out 5 months self taught progress?

Any help would be appreciated,

Dave
Last edited by dreeson at Aug 31, 2008,
Practice the way you feel most comfortable. As far as using a pick, it's somthing that takes getting used to. I played fingerstyle myself starting out, and when I finally broke down and made myself get used to playing with a pick, I found myself wishing I had done it sooner. Sure, it feels alien at first, but there are so many tones you can experience with a pick, and if you can play both ways (pick and fingers), you'll have a ton of options available to you.

Just stick with it. You'll get it.
-Guitar Gear-
1995 American Fender Strat, EMG 85 pup
Randall RH200 Head
Marshall 1960a Cab
Woods Acoustic
-Bass Gear-
Spector Legend 4 bass
Washburn Bantam bass
Hartke HA2500
Fender Bassman 410H
Play what you love, love what you play
Holding a pick is very awkward to start out with. You'll soon develop your own technique and it will be comfier. Dont switch to lefty, you'll just limit yourself to what guitar to get.