Page 1 of 3
So earlier today, I was talking with a pianist who plays mostly classical stuff. We were talking about music, blah blah, but it somehow gets to where he calls the guitar an inferior instrument.

I tried to tell him that in the world of instruments there is no real inferiority, just different applications, but he wouldn't have it. I had my guitar with me, so I took it out and played some heavy classical stuff, and he said "well, do you know what any of that means?" He thought that I didn't know any theory. What. The. Hell. He explains to me like I was a child about how since I was a guitarist I didn't have to learn stuff like intervals. Apparently by his word guitarists go mostly 'willy nilly'.

So we pretty much had a music battle, classical style, copying what each other did and upping the ante and whatnot. After awhile of going nowhere, I just said "let's see you do this, asshole" and played a single note... and bent it up a step. And left.

Rant over. Point is, (seinfeld impression) What's the deal with the guitars cultural impact creating reputations of musical incompetence?
Inferior? He can take his 88 fucking strings and stick them up his ass.
When all else fails, ask the pit.
Quote by GeneralGrim

So we pretty much had a music battle, classical style, copying what each other did and upping the ante and whatnot. After awhile of going nowhere, I just said "let's see you do this, asshole" and played a single note... and bent it up a step. And left.

haha

WIN.
Quote by GeneralGrim
So earlier today, I was talking with a pianist who plays mostly classical stuff. We were talking about music, blah blah, but it somehow gets to where he calls the guitar an inferior instrument.