I am new to bass although I have played guitar for about 8months and after reviewing a lot of posts here I picked up the first edition of the hal leonard bass method books. I really like it thus far as it runs very intuitively. The only thing I am having trouble getting a hold of is that the author uses a 3-finger fretting method where you use your index finger, middle finger, and pinky. I am so used to my ring finger being a primary mover on guitar that this is hard to get used to. Is it ok to ignore this from the book? I do notice that the 3-finger system does make it more comfortable for my small hands however when I watch every bassist play they use all four fingers with those fingers spread wide.

Secondly, I am taking lessons from a guy who I really like both as a person/musician and as a bass teacher (not so much as a guitar teacher). He advocates keeping my thumb planted on the pickup as a reference point and uses his index and middle finger to pluck and the ring and pinky or sometimes the thumb of his fretting finger to silence open strings to prevent ringing. The book suggests a moving method where as you go down to pluck different strings, your thumb (being the anchor) moves down on top of the E and A strings respectively to not only anchor there but also silence them. This seems like a lot of moving to me that could potentially become problematic in the future when one comes across fast bass lines with lots of sweeping and what not. Opinions?
~Nick
FOR SALE:

Alvarez FD-60 acoustic electric- $295 obo (perfect condition, amber finish)
Lindy Fralin Blues Special Strat pickups (as set, perfect condition) - $175 obo

PM me if you are interested!
just use whatever makes you comfortable. i mean i would use 4 fingers because u get way more notes and some songs you will need 4 fingers. it depends on what songs ur playing
Quote by Mad Marius
DBZ guitars, love'em. Especially their Les Piccolo model.