Hi there.

New to this Forum, but from what I have seen, it has a good vibe.

I am new to both guitars and tarting them up, so the extent of my knowledge is limited to what I have gleaned from many hours of Internet trawling!

So, to the point.

I have recently acquired a Yamaha Pacifica 112 Natural. I was looking for a Natural one, so I could assess the quality of the wood.
I was after a Pacifica, in particular, because I had heard that it has a great neck and a good body.
My thought was, that assuming these two things are right, everything else can be changed.

I have a few questions and I tend to be quite creative with words, so this may lead to a lengthy post, I do apologise if that is a problem!

OK, so the plan is:

Figured Maple top (flame or quilt)
Blue stain and lacquer
No Pick Guard
New Trem
Possibly new Tuners
Inset cavity covers with purfling/binding
New jack socket, inlet.
Headstock veneer
Body binding
Learn how to play it!

So, if I want a Maple top, will a 1.5mm Veneer bend to fit the underarm contour?
I have seen the various methods for doing this, I think weighted bags of sand is the best, but will the 1.5 bend without snapping?

No pick guard, means filling the current routed cavities fro the Pots and switches etc, and then opening up the back.
Best method for that?

I intend to go for a Wilkinson/Gotoh Trem, either VS100 or VS300.
The one on there at the moment, must have been fitted wrong in the factory, as my strings slope off to one side of the neck.
It looks like it has been fitted about an 8th of an inch to the left and also a little too close to the neck.

Binding. I would really love to bind the body and until recently, I thought this may be a problem due to the underarm contour, but I have seen a manufacturer that now offers it, so how do they do it?
Is it a case of steam bending the binding to the contour?