Expanding Your Options (With Guitar Improvisation) Part 1

By Randy Johnson

More common than not when someone first learns the principles around improvisation (lead guitar) they learn it in a very linear fashion. This approach is supported by many books, DVDs, teachers and schools. Generally here is how it can go:

1) Learn Pentatonic Scale

2) Learn Pentatonic Scale all over the Neck

3) Learn Major Scale

4) Learn Major Scale all over the Neck

5) Learn Modes.....

During this time of course there is a lot of time given to application of these scales by use of sequences, octaves, two handed approaches, triad improvisation, other applied theory.....the options are endless! As a student myself learning this way and then as a teacher it made a lot of sense at first, one idea builds on another.

One of the challenges I later faced as a teacher was helping beginner improvisers with the creative challenges behind all these concepts and theory. There was only so much they were able to get out of a pentatonic scale or a major scale. Even with all the approaches to it, many students just could not "get it".

One day I tried a different approach that broke through the barriers that were blocking their creativity. Before I go any further this approach works well for not just beginners but also for experienced players.

The approach while simple is powerful in creating new possibilities for improvisation. It forces the mind to come up with solutions by boxing it in and only allowing it to work with limited parameters.

Here is how it works:

As an example here are 3 "patterns":