Hello all,

I've been playing the electric guitar for 2 months now, and I absolutely love it! I've decided to now buy an acoustic as well... I'm pretty sure I will continue playing guitar for many years to come.

So I've basically limited my choices to two guitars, the first is the Seagull S6+ Spruce, I've heard so many good things about this guitar. It looks great, and it's hand crafted from Canadian wood. Solid spruce top and the price is amazing at around 350CAD.

I'm quite set on this guitar, but I recently read that the DX-1 by Martin is also a great guitar, and well it's a Martin. The cost is a bit out of my price range (around 550CAD) but I want to see what people think, or if there are any even better guitars for around 450USD max.

Any advice will be appreciated.

Thanks
I think you'll get more from the Seagull than the Martin to be honest. Martin uses cheap materials for their cheaper guitars.

Also, the seagull is more versatile. the wider neck makes fingerpicking really easy.

Just remember not to buy any guitars without trying them out thoroughly.
Equipment:
- Art & Lutherie Cedar CW (SOLD! )
- Martin D-16RGT w/ LR Baggs M1 Active Soundhole Pickup
- Seagull 25th Anniversary Flame Maple w/ LR Baggs Micro EQ

Have an acoustic guitar? Don't let your guitar dry out! Click here.
DO NOT spend alot of money after just playing guitar for 2 months, it could be a mistake...but i agree a good seagull can out-do a cheap martin any day...but in any other situation i say martin ftw
Pot
Kettle
Black