Hi,

I've been having troubles learning guitar at the moment and i'm not sure how to get around it. I can understand tabs (I have, for example learned most of Stairway to heaven... and the solo of Master of Puppets) but I have trouble learning whole songs... from start to finish. Partially because I get bored (don't know why) and partially because tabs make my head hurt. looking at them just drived me mad as all the numbers end up blurring together and I start playing parts in the wrong order and confusing myself... not helped by the fact that pacing can't be shown in tabs.

Does anyone have any tips, or can anyone advise me as to how I can work around this? As I love playing guitar, but these distractions mean I don't learn new things very often as i'm put off.
dude, im about to say something that you've probably heard 1000 times. Practice Practice Practice. ive been playing for almost 2 years now and i remember when i had that same problem. now i can pick up riffs from tabs in minutes. youve got to be dedicated. if you dont really love what your doing you wont get as good as you can be. Get yourself in that "guitarist" mentality and practice. If it helps, go out and buy some new gear to motivate you. it may be something as simple as new cool looking picks or a strap. Anything to get you motivated.

Peace.
Quote by musicjunkie207
The time I fell on my face on a trampoline and cracked my neck, then proceded to run around the yard in a blind panic screaming "I hope I'm not paralyzed! OH GOD I THINK I'M PARALYZED!"

I'm not going to give up, That's one thing for sure. I enjoy it too much
practice, practice, practice is probably the best solution, yes... but i'll try guitar tab/pro and see if that helps me visualise the tabs a bit better as music. Thanks!