Hey, I've been playing guitar for the past five years... seriously playing for the past probably three. I've always wanted to play stuff like Hendrix and Frusciante. I love funk and stuff like Sly. But the past 6 months or so, I've been listening to a lot of different stuff. I'm not going to name a certain genre, because some people get a little up-tight about the differences between the "-core"'s so I've been listening to a lot of local bands in my area (northern Rhode Island) that sound like The Fall of Troy (who I've been listening to a lot lately). I want to start learning that style of guitar, with fast, technical riffs. I'm taking lessons now, but kind of mainly for jazz guitar. I don't really know what to learn, because I don't know any terms. I want to learn to be able to write riffs incorporating fast complicated riffs but not sounding like shred or anything. Kind of hard to explain, but just listen to "Knife Fight at the Mormon Church" by Thirty Years War/the Fall of Troy. That's kind of what I'm aiming for.

Any help is appreciated. I'm just looking to expand my mind in techniques and style.
i find knowing scales and theory in general to be essential in writing technical riff, economy picking for fast runs probably, tapping, learning how to shred is a good idea really as it's just the culmination of all the coolest techniques, you dont actually have to shred once you know how.
Thomas Erak (FoT) actually has a background in Jazz so that might be the way to go
Quote by stephen_rettie
i find knowing scales and theory in general to be essential in writing technical riff, economy picking for fast runs probably, tapping, learning how to shred is a good idea really as it's just the culmination of all the coolest techniques, you dont actually have to shred once you know how.
Thomas Erak (FoT) actually has a background in Jazz so that might be the way to go