Hello, well for a little while every since i started playing chords if i remember correctly, my index finger's joints have been hurting like hell. Now i have a theory that it is because i play the A chord incorrectly. I press down instead of the 1,2,3 fingers, i just press and barre (SP?) it with my index finger. The reason is i am much more accurate with it and it is very difficult to squeeze 3 fingers into that one fret. Now this again is my theory, and i have only been playing for a month so perhaps there are some more experienced players that may explain it.

Rock on!
Most guitar players will play it both of those ways depending on the situation.

PAIN IS GOOD.
Quote by Tommy Walker
PAIN IS GOOD.

Wrong. Pain is your body's way of saying you're doing it wrong.

TS: Personally I'm not a fan of fretting an A chord with your index finger; have you tried fretting it with your 2, 3 and 4 fingers rather than the 1, 2 and 3 way you've been doing it already? Personally I think it's a better way as it's basically the way I fret an A shape barre but with the barre replaced by the nut. Try that and see if it helps.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
Quote by Zaphod_Beeblebr
Wrong. Pain is your body's way of saying you're doing it wrong.

TS: Personally I'm not a fan of fretting an A chord with your index finger; have you tried fretting it with your 2, 3 and 4 fingers rather than the 1, 2 and 3 way you've been doing it already? Personally I think it's a better way as it's basically the way I fret an A shape barre but with the barre replaced by the nut. Try that and see if it helps.