Hi,
I used to be a lead guitarist in a hard rock/metal band. We had only played one live show, but we won the prize so that went well.
I was recently kicked out 'temporalily' because of a few reasons. The main of which were no.1 my timing is poor and no.2 the used to be ryhthm guitarist was getting better at guitar than me. (well thats the impression I got)
It all came quite suddenly as I knew my timing was an issue but it didn't seem to be of this much of a problem.
We agreed to re-review the situation in the new year.
Until then I'm gonna practise my arse off, which is why I've come here.
Any tips would be great
It sounds like they're easing you out of the band, if I were you I'd be ready to find a new one in case that's what they were doing. I'd also try to keep in close contact with them, and also be ready to be the rhythm guitarist if they let you back in, even though I think you should do lead if your timeing's bad.
Quote by stratkat
It sounds like they're easing you out of the band, if I were you I'd be ready to find a new one in case that's what they were doing. I'd also try to keep in close contact with them, and also be ready to be the rhythm guitarist if they let you back in, even though I think you should do lead if your timeing's bad.

cheers dude
I am, but funnily enough thats what I thought they were trying to do. they didnt say that thou. im ready to share roles tbh, he's not miles ahead.
Well first, I think you need to be honest with yourself and reevulate the whole situation that lead to you being kicked out. Was it really just your playing ability lagging behind? Or was it some personal issue that started becoming a band issue. From my experience, kicking out someone for a period of time is just the polite way of telling them to clean up their act and getting whatever it is they do squared away.