Poll: Do you own Music Theory books?
Poll Options
View poll results: Do you own Music Theory books?
No, too much work.
3 4%
No, I play by ear.
1 1%
No, but I'd like to.
12 16%
No, I studied music theory online.
9 12%
Yes, one.
17 22%
Yes, more than one.
29 38%
Yes, I have a huge collection of reference material.
6 8%
Voters: 77.
Did you find them useful? Did you become better at improvising? Do you find composing songs a breeze thanks to scales?
I use theory to relate what I am doing to what other people are doing when talking to them. When I am making music I do not specifically worry about the theory behind what I am doing, I do it by flow, but may look it over and use the theory to change the "bad" parts.
I own quite a few music related books and sheet music. Its a bit of an obsession with me.

To understand theory is to write better basslines and makes the process a bit more efficient.
It also gives you a common framework to discuss music with other musicians. Its like learning a language; knowing the constructs of good grammar helps you to write and speak better. The same is with music.
I learned to improvise before I knew notes.
I learned chords and notes and became interested in more theory.
I bought Bass Guitar for dummies and read it once or twice and didnt put much thought in it.
I took AP Music Theory in high school and got a book for it.
I bought a book for my college music theory exam.
I have a college music theory book now, and will probably get another one for a different theory class next semester.

so. yeah. take that as you will.
They help if you understand what it says / have a friend or teacher.
Quote by casualty01
the RIAA can't shut us down, interpol can't shut us down. the U.S. gov't can't shut us down and CERTAINLY not YOU can shut us down.

BA in Music theory
MusicMan Bongo, SUB -> Orange Terror 1000 stack

Quote by waterproofpie
it's a UtBDan sandwich. Awwww yeah!
Am i the only person on this forum who plays by ear?