Hey guys, thanks for taking a look. This is my latest piece of writing and the working title is New Day Rising, though I am still considering changing it so any ideas from you guys is much appreciated. It's the first song I've written in around 2 months, mainly because my last band are on hiatus due to University and working commitments. I've been jamming with a new band and have played a local gig with them.

They are a hard rock/metal band, with a heavy influence from Alter Bridge and QOTSA. This is my first time writing a metal song, I'm usually more at home within the Alt./Hard Rock writing genre so I'd appreciate you guys telling me what you think of this as my first foray into writing metal. I took alot of influence from Alter Bridge myself, having been a fan of theirs for years. Anywho sorry for the mini essay lol, here's the song. All crit will be returned, just drop me a link to the piece you want me to take a look at.

New Day Rising (Working Title):
(c) Toby Cunningham 29th August 2008

Verse 1:

Another day has been and gone,
And I start to wonder,
Where it all went wrong.
I fix my eyes,
Upon, the setting sun.
As it falls down from the sky.

Verse 2:

Our guiding star has lost it's way,
Without it's path to follow,
We are led astray.
The pieces falling apart,
Crashing down around us all,
We'll build again right from the start.

Chorus 1:

There's a new day rising,
Up from the ashes of our broken dreams,
We all comw out of hiding,
Tearing our fears apart from the seams.
Nothing in the way,
Nothing to make us stay,
Or to stop us from starting
A brand new day.

Verse 3:

I just need a quick release,
From what surrounds me,
I just need some (room/space*) to breathe. *Not sure which word to use*
Everything starting to crack,
The pressure doesn't ease the pain,
As the lights fade out to black.

Verse 4:

We all want some self-control,
To make our own minds up,
Something to help us reach our goals.
Everyone standing up tall,
Ready to make a final stand