So here's the story: I'm driving home last night, thoroughly enjoying singing along to an awesome song, when suddenly it just cuts out. The cd player switches itself off, there's this really loud buzzing noise, and I can't get it to turn back on again. I pulled over, turned the engine off and then back on again. The cd player came back on, played for a second and then the same thing happened. When I switched the headlights off, the buzzing went away, and when I switched them on again, the buzzing came back. I managed to get it to switch on long enough to get the cd out, but the only way I could get it to stay on was to listen to the radio.

I'm no mechanic, but the fact the buzzing was related to the head lights seems to suggest it's a fault with the car's electronics, rather than the cd player itself. I'll be taking it to a car garage, but I don't want to be ripped off with any lies, saying more stuff needs doing blah blah. Knowledge is power, so they say, so I'm trying to get as good an idea of what's going on as I can before I take the car in to one. So does anyone know what's going on?
sounds like you have a faulty earth either from your headlights or from your cd player, thus causeing some kind of interference!
Bam
Drive without headlights on....
Might be a bit risky
Squier Standard Telecaster.
Random Ibanez GIO superstrat
Takamine EG440C Maple Blue

Line 6 Spider III 30 w
Blackheart Killer Ant
Blackheart Little Giant

Line 6 Pod X3 Live
Line 6 Toneport UX-2
Your CD player is hooked to a power line that turns on with your lights. That way it lights up with your dash like everything else. Might wanna check that out.
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Quote by IKnowItsWrong
Drive without headlights on....
Might be a bit risky

I considered that, but I was on a country road, and with no head lights I couldn't even see my hand in front of my face...so I decided I'd probably be better with headlights