As I'm trying to get into a band as a rhythm guitarist, I will have to jam in their audition. How exactly do you do it? What's the key to playing rhythm, when somebody is soloing in Em (that's what they did last time: they started soloing in Em and I had no idea, what to do ) for example?
Thank you!
Quote by G-Dog_666
Play an E Minor Chord Progression. i.e. Em, G, C, D.

Where did you get this progression, if I may ask? I'm very interested in the theory behind it, but I have no musical education at all (started playing guitar 1 year ago, before what I hated making music).
Quote by Amarant
Where did you get this progression, if I may ask? I'm very interested in the theory behind it, but I have no musical education at all (started playing guitar 1 year ago, before what I hated making music).

Congrats, you're ready to enter the MT forum. Read the theory sticky, and take your time. You won't learn it all in a day. Feel free to ask if you don't understand, we're happy to help.
e minor-a minor-B major is a good safe progression, and you can mix those around as you wish (to a certain extent). If you don't understand the minor/major thing just play powerchords.
It's not power chord music. But what if they say Am or something totally different next time? What chord progression do I do then?
Minor -- sad; major -- happy.
Know what chords fit in what key, and how to make proper progressions.

Generally the chords for Major scales go: M m m M M m diminished.

For example, in the Key of C Major, the chords would be
CM Dm Em FM GM Am Bo

Minor scales generally go: m diminished M m m M M
But the fifth chord can have the 3rd raised (the leading tone), making it a Major chord.

So in Eminor the chords would be
Em Fo G#M Am Bm CM DM

Most common progression would be a IV-V-I (or iv-V-i in Minor) for rock and blues music.
In Eminor that would be Am to Bm to Em
But don't be boring, vary it up and add other chords, but try to focus on the tonic chord (Em in this case).