Well, in 25 days I'll get the first installment of my student loan. Looking to 'upgrade' my amp. I was thinking about buying:

- Blackheart Little Giant head
- Epiphone Valve Jnr. 1 x 12 Cabinet
- EHX Metal Muff Pedal

Looking for tones close to Metallica. I play an ESP LTD EX-400 with EMG 81/60. Will this set up give me the necessary gain and what not for Metallica-esque metal?

I'm looking to spend no morr than £250, that totals up to £235.

Thanks.
the beauty of student loans.
STEAM: beachhhhhhhh

Quote by cornmancer
Please daddy, just for one hour.
not the metal muff imo.

go for a tubescreamer.
My Gear:
Gibson Faded Flying V
"Dante's Inferno" Iceman
Fender Hot Rod Deluxe 112
etc.

Quote by freedoms_stain
I can't imagine anything worse than shagging to Mark Knopfler.

Maybe shagging Mark Knopfler, but that's about it.
It's not blowing my student loan, it's a small part of it. And I'm studying music so it means it's kind of for my course...
Quote by TK1
not the metal muff imo.

go for a tubescreamer.

I don't think a tubescreamer would get you Metallica-level gain. Maybe if you crank the amp to full - and then it's too bloody loud. So I'd say get the Metal Muff.
Quote by Lunchbox362
This thread if fail in almost every way imaniganable.
Unless your college has terrible amps, you might as well use those ones. My college has a few Vox AD's and they suck pretty hard, but it's better than bringing a rig in every day.
Last edited by Horlicks at Sep 4, 2008,
I will be using the ones at Uni (note uni, it annoys me when people call it a college, I gues I didn't specify). This will be for home use and recording at home.
That setup isn't a good metal setup. That amp isn't very tight at all. It's quite bad for metal. I'd go for a ROland CUbe 30 or so for metal...
Quote by stratman_13
It's okay Gabel. You kick ass.

18watter video demo

My band

Recognised by the Official EG/GG&A Who To Listen To List 2009
Quote by Gabel