Hey, I’ve been playing guitar for about two years. The past six months I’ve been playing very actively. I used to play for two hours a day or so, now I practice about six hours a day. More or less any chance I get.

I started out playing a Behringer that I got as a gift, then after hating the feeling of the neck, I made a very, very minor upgrade to an Ibanez Gio I bought at a pawn shop. I’ve been playing that for about a year and a half now and am getting fed up. I’m out to buy a guitar that will last me a few years that will suit me for that time. Obviously something fairly well rounded, but I have found a few styles I like.

I have been experimenting with a lot of blues, rock, and classical music. I love the technique that goes into all of them, and as far as I know it covers quite a bit for one person. I play with a .6 tortex pick usually, and 11 gauge strings. I can comfortably play 8th notes, alternate picking, string skipping, with occasional pull-off and hammer-on 16th notes at a 120 tempo, which is more or less the most complicated maneuver I can pull off.

I’ve learned a lot from Paul Gilbert Dvds, and occasional Joe Satriani lessons. Just the basic techniques like string skipping, and some of the modes. I know Ionian, Dorian, Phrygian and Phrygian Dominant. I also know the basic blues and minor pentatonic scales.

I don’t know how much of this information is relevant, I just really would like to make a good decision, thanks for reading all that. Now to let you know what I have been looking at. Mostly I’ve played with a knock-off SG with a built in Overdrive (Bumstead if you wanna know the name), it’s pretty cool, but then I went to a different music store and played a Tele thinline knock-off (don’t remember the brand) and I loved the sound and feel. I also played around with a Ibanez hollow body and liked that.