There's this old standard 24 gold top PRS guitar at my local music store. It's been sitting for about 6 years because no one really likes gold tops. It's not used, but it's been played by everyone who goes into the store, however it's not a really big store. The guy who owns the place said it would probably need a set up. I'm not sure whether to get it or not because it's an awesome deal ($1,800) but it is old. I'm not experienced with buying guitars so I'm not sure if this is a good purchase or not. What do you guys think?
The first question I ask myself when something doesn't seem to be beautiful is why do I think it's not beautiful. And very shortly you discover that there is no reason.-John Cage
the standard is a set neck, right?
If it is, and it plays good, i say go for it.
it's all down to you, as we aren't there to play it for you. Sounds like a reasonable price though.
Gear:
Ibanez RG550 20th RFR
Traynor YCV50
Fender FMT HH Tele
Mesa Boogie 2ch Triple Rectifier
2 1x12 custom Theile cabs
ISP Decimator
Krank Kranshaft
Boss BF-2 Flanger
BBE Sonic Maximizer
PRS is a fantastic make, so you can't really go wrong with one IMO. If you like its sound and how it plays and are willing to shell out the cash, by all means man go for it.
Gunpowder: FUCKING ROCKS!!!
Quote by The Madcap
[witty set-up]
Gunpowder FUCKING ROCKS!!!!!

Quote by Kensai

Gunpowder you fucking rock!!

Quote by Dirge Humani
Now I can say, with sufficient certainly, that you, Gunpowder...

FUCK ROCKS!
Quote by kool98769
the standard is a set neck, right?
If it is, and it plays good, i say go for it.
it's all down to you, as we aren't there to play it for you. Sounds like a reasonable price though.

Ok, I was basically just asking if you guys saw any problems with buying a guitar that's so old, it played just as well as other PRS guitars I've played that are new, it was just the age. And no, standard is bolt on, I can't afford a set neck (those are $2,800 and up and my budget ends at $2,400).

Thanks!