Hi guys,

My sister has an old (and honestly really bad) electric guitar I started learning on today, I've got some chords down relatively well (A, D, G, Em, C... all need improvement) and learning to play open country, open to the stars and stand by me (out of tune bagpipes probably sound better than me playing them though).

Anyway, there's one thing on the tabs that I don't understand.

Simple diagram:

----0-------------------
-----------0-----------
------------------------
-------------0---------

Em

^ This I understand perfectly. ^

----3-------------------
-----------2-----------
------------------------
-------------3---------

Em

^ This I don't. The only difference is it uses 3,2,3 instead of 0,0,0 - I understand those numbers relate to frets but not quite sure what to do.

I know I hold the Em Cord, play E, A, G but don't get what the numbers not being 0 signifies.

Trying to teach myself here Thanks guys! Glad I found this place, I'd be totally lost!
Last edited by Virtua at Sep 7, 2008,
I thought guitars had six strings. . . . I'm saying that because something about this post is just hard for me to understand, if you can clarify a little more I'll try to answer.
Quote by paranoid joker

Metal, should kick you in the nuts, after you catch it messing around with your girlfriend.
and then make a sandwhich in your house and walk out.

Http://www.myspace.com/drowningiris
They do, I left them out because it was irrelevant to the question... I don't get what the numbers on the strings signify when it's not a 0.
I'm the same as notsee i dont quite understand what your on about but heres the basics to reading tabs.

the numbers represent what fret your meant to play so if its 3, hold the 3rd fret down on the shown string. If the number is 0 it means to play the string open, eg nothing held down.